Established in 1935, the Stelvio National Park is one of the largest nature reserves in Europe. Covering an area of 130,734 ha it straddles the Trentino-Alto Adige (South Tyrol) and Lombardy regions. Its forests and mountains range from altitudes of 700 m to the summit of the majestic Ortler at 3,905 m. Ten local municipalities are located in the Stelvio National Park: Stilfs/Stelvio, Prad/Prato, Glurns/Glorenza, Taufers im Münstertal/Tubre in Val Monastero, Mals/Malles, Laas/Lasa, Schlanders/Silandro, Latsch/Laces and the two valley communities of Martelltal/Val Martello and Ultental/Val d’Ultimo.

The Stelvio National Park at a glance

Established: 1935
Total area: 130,734 ha
South Tyrol section: 53,495 ha
Highest elevation: The Ortler mountain (3,905 m)
Lowest point: Morter near Schlanders (700 m)
National Park regions: Trentino-Alto Adige (South Tyrol) & Lombardy
Stelvio National Park municipalities in South Tyrol: Stilfs, Prad, Glurns, Taufers im Münstertal, Mals, Laas, Schlanders, Martell, Latsch and Ultental Valley.