Pilgrimage church Unsere liebe Frau im Walde auf der Schmelz

General description

The small pilgrimage church Unsere liebe Frau im Walde stands on the Schmelz, in middle of the wooded Martell Valley, where a mine is mentioned as early as 1448. This charming miners' chapel was donated in 1711 by the Counts Hendl from Kastelbell, sold in 1816 due to famine, extended with a tower in 1856 and rebuilt in Neo-Gothic style in 1894. Until after the Second World War, the people of Martell moved in procession from the parish church in the main village to the chapel on the Schmelz for the annual celebration of the church consecration. The day of patron saints is on first Sunday in July, around the Visitation of Mary (2 July), with a field mass and sermon by the erratic block next to the church.

description to arrive at destination

Along the state road until Coldrano into de Venosta Valley, at the roundabout in the direction Val Martello, past the village Morter and further into the Val Martello. Or you can take the train to Coldrano and then get by bus into the Val Martello.

Time table: all year round
Ufficio per il Parco Nazionale dello Stelvio
Events Weather Webcams